The Grade of Magus

The grade of Magus is one of three grades within the A.’.A.’. Western magical tradition that delineates the process of enlightenment. For more on this, please see The Magical Progressive Experience model.

The basic A.’.A.’. developmental process can be summarised as follows:

1). The magician gains the Knowledge and Conversation of the Holy Guardian Angel.

This begins the process of enlightenment.

2). His or her angel leads the magician to the abyss.

The abyss is the veil between what is real (Emptiness/God/Truth) and that which is not (everyday reality).

Whether the magician progresses beyond the abyss is a matter of inertia; most people, even many seekers after enlightenment, are not existentially able to give themselves up to the process.

Equivalence: Dukkha Nanas of Theravada Buddhism, Dark Night of the Soul of Christian mysticism.

3). The magician crosses the abyss and achieves the grade of Magister Templi.

The grade of Magister Templi is fully achieved with the first peak experience of enlightenment. The magician now knows through direct experience the difference between what is real and what is not. This grade covers the period of time that enlightenment remains as a peak experience.

Equivalence: First and Second Path of Theravada Buddhism (Sotapanna and Sakadagami).

4). The magician completes the tasks of the Magister Templi, and attains the grade of Magus.

The grade of Magus is attained with the first occurrence of enlightenment as a plateau experience.

The grade of Magus is not to be confused with the Office of the Magus of the Aeon, of which there is supposedly only one magician every 2,000 years who will fulfil this role  (Crowley being the last). The Office of the Magus of the Aeon has nothing to do with the process of enlightenment.

Equivalence: Third Path of Theravada Buddhism (Anagami). First occurrence of Wilber’s Witness and the possibility of Nerodhi Samapatti.

5). The magician completes the tasks of the Magus, and attains the grade of Ipsissimus.

With the permanent adaptation of enlightenment, and the cessation of duality, the magician becomes fully enlightened and attains the grade of Ipsissimus.

Equivalence: Fourth Path in Theravada Buddhism (Arahat). For a detailed account of what it must be like to be an Ipsissimus from the perspective of a Theravada Arahat, please see Daniel Ingram’s essay on Arahats.

The assumption of the grade of Magus

Enlightenment became a plateau experience for me on Saturday 14th July between 2 and 3pm, and the preceding ordeal was my initiation into the grade of Magus. It is interesting to note the amount of symbolism involved in the events of the ordeal that pertain to Chokmah, or the Sephiroth on the Qabalistic Tree of Life peculiar to the grade of Magus.

I can’t be sure if my experience of the attainment of the grade of Magus is common, but I found the resulting difference in consciousness between Magus and Magister Templi just as marked as that which occurred between normal consciousness and the first peak experience of enlightenment. Although there was no doubt a new path within the Theravada model had been achieved, it was only with the scrying of the Enochian Aethyr VTI (25), and the aftermath of that vision, that it became apparent I had attained a new grade within the A.’.A.’..

The fact I’m now a Magus has come as a surprise, although in hindsight it makes complete sense in terms of the nature of the progressive experience of enlightenment, revealing the A.’.A.’. grading system to be a much more elegant and accurate model for the process than I previously thought.

What it means to be a Magus

For the traditional view of the grade of Magus, please see the Holy book Liber B vel Magi.

Although I feel a little embarrassed describing myself as a Magus, I’ve had plenty of time to grow accustomed to the reality of the process of enlightenment, and so it does not bother me as much as when I first attained the grade of Magister Templi.

From my own personal experience, the grade describes the point at which Emptiness/God/Truth becomes increasingly more present during everyday consciousness, with moments of absorption in a state of divinity. The effect of my first peak experience of enlightenment, where my consciousness became decentralised and diffused in the ‘background’ of reality, is now a common occurrence that persists as a state.

My meditation has become extremely eventful: trances, bliss, expansion, visions, new intellectual insights, etc.

I suffer less. This doesn’t mean I no longer feel pain, misery, disgust, fear, etc but that my relationship to these emotions and the experiences that cause them has been affected.

I have a very deep insight into the nature of existence, although I am not enlightened. The good news is I am now one realisation away from complete enlightenment. The bad news is it could take anything from a couple of minutes to the rest of my life for that realisation to occur.

Myths of the Magus

I cannot fly, turn myself invisible, teleport, live forever, know all things, materialise objects out of thin air, change physical size and shape, walk through walls, stop bullets in mid air, beat everyone at martial arts, or do any other wonderfully fantastic feats of Godhood.

I do not hang around with the Great White Brotherhood, although I have seen them, experienced their effects, and received direct communication. They even gave me a little present.

I have not started a new aeon.

I am still a great big tit.